Soweto Derby Top Goal Scorers Of All Time

 Soweto Derby Top Goal Scorers Of All Time

With this weekend’s Soweto Derby headlining the South African football calendar, iDiski Times looks at the who the top goal scorers have been in this historic fixture.

With over fifty years of history there have been plenty of match winners, but only a few of the current generation are part of the list of all-time scorers, and unfortunately some of those names won’t be available for Saturday’s game.

Ace Ntsoelengoe remains the runaway leader in derby scorers, with 19 goals scored by the legendary Kaizer Chiefs player. It’s ten goals more goals than Orlando Pirates’ record holder, Jomo Sono.

And while names like Thembinkosi Lorch, Vincent Pule and Leonardo Castro are on the list, they are set to miss the game through injury.

Lorch is the leading scorer in derbies of the current generation, with five goals, followed by Castro, and Daniel Cardoso who have four.

Of the other current generation, Pule has scored twice, as has Bernard Parker and Gabadinho Mhango.

Soweto Derby Top Scorers:

19 – Ace Ntsoelengoe

11 – Teenage Dladla, Abednigo Ngcobo, Marks Maponyane

9 – Jomo Sono

7 – Alfred Jacobs, MacDonald Skosana

6 – Jerry Sikhosana

5 – Thembinkosi Lorch

4 – Benedict Vilakazi, Siphiwe Tshabalala, Leonardo Castro, Daniel Cardoso, Basil Steenkamp

3 – Lesley Manyathela, Dennis Lota, Katlego Mashego, Knowledge Musona


Related post